“Feed The Soul”: Courage

This month’s theme focuses on “courage” and the ability to find strength in authenticity–despite the fear!

she-decided

Welcome to the New Year!

It’s been a great entrance into 2013, and I know there is so much in store for those of us who are embracing the opportunity to set out upon new oceans.  The New Year is always a time to reflect on what we need and desire for the next 364 days.  I’ve always been someone who makes resolutions only to find myself at the end of that year complaining about not getting things done.

The reason I usually had things left on the list is because of fear.  I was afraid to move out of my comfort zone, and I was unwilling to let go of things that no longer served me–even if it meant being in that beautiful place I wanted to be.

This year is different.

 I realized around six months ago that I placed more value in my fear, insecurities, and faults than the future I wanted for myself–than who I was authentically. I placed more value in fear of failing (myself or a client) than pushing the design limits.  I would come up with a design idea, write out the plan, then toss the idea (and the desire) in the trash can.  All because I was too afraid to set out on that new ocean.

Since that realization, I spent the next months feeding myself encouragement, love, and as much of the authentic Ivy as I could.  I required myself to design, dream, and inspire myself.  It was hard. I had to acknowledge that small (sometimes loud) voice that said “What if you fail? What if they hate it? What if you hate it? What if they laugh? What if? What if? What if?!” I also had to come to the conclusion that even if all of those negative possibilities come true, there was a host of other possibilities that could also take place.   “What if I succeed? What if they love it? What if YOU love it? What if they are in awe?”

There are so many possibilities out there–negative and positive.  But we have to be willing to accept them as they are and set out on these unknown seas to get to them.  There are storms ahead; winds will blow; we’ll be scared out of our minds.  But we’ll get to those beautiful places…because we had the courage.

Here’s to the courageous you,

Ivy Blog Signature

Leave a Reply

